Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
FUJIIA
Publicité
----------------------------------------------------

The contents of this blog (texts, images… ) are not free of right. No commercial use. Please contact me for personal use.


----------------------------------------------------

Le contenu de ce blog (textes, images… ) n'est pas libre de droit. Pas d'utilisation commerciale. Contactez-moi pour une utilisation personnelle.


----------------------------------------------------
26 juin 2012

Daring Bakers: Rosewater and Rasberry Battenberg Cake

Mandy of What The Fruitcake?! came to our rescue last minute to present us with the Battenberg Cake challenge! She highlighted Mary Berry’s techniques and recipes to allow us to create this unique little cake with ease.

Don't judge a book by its cover. My cake has quite some much blush on the cheeks. I can't tell if it's really ugly or not bad for a first  try. But it's pretty good. If you can forget about the ongoing heat. I took on the challenge and here goes: Rosewater and rasberry Battenberg cake! Don't overreact, folks, it sounds much better than it looks, or even tastes, for that matter. It's all my fault, for not taking the time to do things right. In this heat, turning the oven on was utter torture. My every move is currently in slow motion. Writing this text is exaustingly painfull. I am exagerating, though. A little bit. This cake in slightly cooler weather and with a cup of tea would probably be delighting. Just thinking about tea is making me hot. I know there are a few jealous people out there who are still waiting for the sun to appear with it's share of higher temperatures. I am truly sorry for you guys, I guess it's all or nothing.

The pink brown spongecake was coloured with actual (frozen, hem) rasberries, no food colouring in my house! But fresh berries like these red currants are better suited for decoration. And I would never have thought of a pink marzipan stripe in the middle there, but here in France, the kind that's easy to find is always tri-coloured: pink/white/green. I wasn't going to buy three packs just to get enough of the plain colour!

Recipe here.

img_1883-680

img_1888-680

Pour une petite traduction, sachez que la chaleur ambiante a rendu ce défi assez dificile. Je ne rallumerai pas le four avant le mois d'octobre!! Le gâteau: des bandes de génoise aux amandes et à l'eau de rose dont la moitié a été colorée avec des framboises surgelées, soudées par de la confiture de framboise et enrobée de pâte d'amande. À déguster dans une pièce climatisée avec une tasse de thé. Ou attendre l'automne pour essayer la recette aux noix et au chocolat!!

La recette en anglais

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
L
Oh, thank you Rosa, I think I'm gonna blush^^<br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> cheers…
R
Sublissime and so classy! I love the flavor of your cake. <br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> Thanks for your kind words regarding my pictures! If ever you are interested in a print, let me know.... ;-P<br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> Cheers,<br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> Rosa
L
Hi hi, merci!
M
Mais que ça a l'air bon !!!
L
Ben merci, alors.
Publicité